Falla Saint-Michel 2019

A fiery 15th anniversary!

August 9 to 11, TOHU will host the 15th edition of the FALLA of Saint-Michel, a festival that comes ablaze with colour and fire! Presented by Van Houtte in collaboration with Fonds de solidarité FTQ, this new edition features family-oriented activities and musical performances that will have the crowd dancing... all for free! The FALLA of Saint-Michel will set a structure more than 9 meters tall ablaze - a landmark moment of the festival, complete with a spectacular frenzy of pyrotechnics.

Random Recipe, Queen Ka and guests, Jérôme 50, David Goudreault, Mehdi Cayenne and Noubi Trio will take turns filling TOHU's outdoor stage starting at 6 pm, August 9 and 10. New for this year, TOHU invites families to a Sunday gathering chock-full of activities for young and old alike, August 11, from 11 am to 4 pm, to mark the 15th anniversary of TOHU and the FALLA of Saint-Michel.

SHUTTLE SERVICES

Several free shuttles will be available to facilitate transportation to the site of the event for the people of Saint-Michel. Three meeting points to serve you better and frequent passages !


Stops

Centre Lasalllien : 3001 Rue de Louvain E
Centre des Loisir René Goupil : 4121 42th Street
Maison du citoyen : 7501 François-Perrault St.
TOHU : Corner Jarry and Molson

FRIDAY AUGUST 9

Centre Lasallien : 5 pm, 6 pm, 7 pm, 8 pm, 9 pm, 10 pm and 11 pm
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 5:15 pm, 6:15 pm, 7:15 pm, 8:15 pm, 9:15 pm, 10:15 pm and 11:15 pm
Maison du citoyen : 5:30 pm, 6:30 pm, 7:30 pm, 8:30 pm, 9:30 pm, 10:30 pm to 11:30 pm
TOHU : Every hour from 5:45 pm, 6:45 pm, 7:45 pm, 8:45 pm, 9:45 pm and 10:45 pm

SATURDAY AUGUST 10

Centre Lasallien : 5 pm, 6 pm, 7 pm, 8 pm, 9 pm, 10 pm and 11 pm
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 5:15 pm, 6:15 pm, 7:15 pm, 8:15 pm, 9:15 pm, 10:15 pm and 11:15 pm
Maison du citoyen : 5:30 pm, 6:30 pm, 7:30 pm, 8:30 pm, 9:30 pm, 10:30 pm and 11:30 pm
TOHU : Every hour from 5:45 pm, 6:45 pm, 7:45 pm, 8:45 pm, 9:45 pm and 10:45 pm

SUNDAY AUGUST 11

Centre Lasallien : 11 am, 12 pm, 1 pm, 2 pm, 3 pm and 4 pm
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 11:15 am, 12:15 pm, 13:15 pm, 14:15 pm, 15:15 pm and 4:15 pm
Maison du citoyen : 11:30 am, 12:30 pm, 1:30 pm, 2:30 pm, 3:30 pm and 4:30 pm
TOHU : 11:45 am, 12:45 pm, 1:45 pm, 2:45 pm and 3:45 pm

EVENT SCHEDULE

Come to the outdoor site of TOHU to enjoy all the activities of the FALLA of Saint-Michel.

FRIDAY 9 AUGUST

6 PM TO 11 PM

SHOWS

6 pm PERSIAN-INCA DUO
In collaboration with the Center of World Musicians

Bistro BAHUT Brasseur de Montréal

7 pm : NOUBI TRIO
Main stage

8:30 pm : MEHDI CAYENNE
Main stage

9:30 pm : QUEEN KA & GUESTS
Main stage


CONTINUOUS ACTIVITY

Roving entertainment Outdoor site

Circus ring Outdoor site

FALLA exhibition Outdoor site

SATURDAY AUGUST 10

5PM TO 11PM

SHOWS

6 PM : DUO DIDEM AND NAZIH In collaboration with the Center of World Musicians
Bistro BAHUT Brasseur de Montréal

7 PM : JÉRÔME 50 Main stage

9 PM : SLAM BY DAVUD GOUDREAULT AND LIGHTING OF THE GIANT ARTWORK Main stage

9:30 PM : RANDOM RECIPE Main stage



CONTINUOUS ACTIVITY

Van Houtte relaxing area Outdoor site

Roving entertainment Outdoor site

Circus ring Outdoor site

FALLA exhibition Outdoor site

Itty-bitty circus bites by La marche du crabe
Outdoor site

Vélo Paradiso by Wapikoni Mobile
Outdoor site

SUNDAY AUGUST 11

11 AM TO 4 PM

FAMILY DAY

15TH ANNIVERSARY OF TOHU Let's celebrate together the 15th anniversary of TOHU and the FALLA of Saint-Michel!

CONTINUOUS ACTIVITY

Van Houtte relaxing zone Outdoor site

Creating artworks with the ashes of the FALLA Led by YUGZ
Outdoor site

Roving entertainment
Outdoor site

Circus ring
Outdoor site

FALLA exhibition
Outdoor site

Urban dance by Fwd Movement

Carte blanche to Forum Jeunesse de Saint-Michel
Outdoor site

La Loteria Mexican bingo
Outdoor site

Itty-bitty circus bites by La marche du crabe
Outdoor site

Free popcorn From 11:30 am to 1:30 pm

LIGHTING OF THE GIANT WORK

On the evening of Saturday, August 10, the giant collective work will be set ablaze - a structure built by a band of young falleros supported by a team of professionals, dedicated volunteers and hundreds of devoted citizens from the Saint-Michel borough. For this 15th edition, the gigantic structure will be inspired by "games and toys" - a theme that brings people together in a festive atmosphere. Expect to see 3D Lego figurines, a giant model of Tintin's rocket, oversized Rubik's cubes and dice, a wooden shack, and images evoking traditional games. Get ready for a dose of nostalgia!

Every year since its creation in 2004, TOHU is happy and proud to host the falleros - young Montrealers undergoing socioprofessional integration, supported by the Programme d'information sur le travail et la recherche d'emploi de Montréal (PITREM). Aged 16-23 years, they will spend 10 weeks erecting the colossal 9-meter-high and 10-meter-wide structure.

MUCH MORE THAN A FESTIVAL

The FALLA is an artistic, cultural mediation, and socio-professional integration projet that has been building bridges between generations and cultures in the Saint-Michel borough for 15 years. For weeks on end, this happening calls upon the creativity of citizens, artists and youth in socio-professional integration. The power of the FALLA lies in a unique idea: gather people together to buld a monumental scupture, present it to the public during festive evenings, and set it ablaze in a celebration of renewal. The FALLA is also a way to learn that time spent together as a team, as well as the lessons learned along the way, matter more than the physical manifestation of the work itself.

Since its creation, the FALLA project has been about: 30 community organizations working together in the borough, 116 young falleros, close to 3,000 citizens who are Friends of the FALLA, more than 21,000 hours of work put in by volunteers during construction, more than 600 artists associated with the festival over the years, and more than 96,000 spectators throughout the past 14 editions.

ARTISTS LINEUP

Noubi Trio

Ibnou Ndiaye Noubi Trio is a musician and a comedian from Saint-Louis of Senegal. He is also an author, composer, arranger and performer.The combination of his guitar and his voice is the essence of his music. Sitting on his cajón, guitar in hand, he draws his inspiration from the daily life of West Africa and transports us on the streets of this old continent. His songs are conceived as tales, photographs, paintings, they can relate a very brief moment or conversely a whole life. Ibnou loves the stage, stretching an imaginary thread with people, a connection to sing stories, translate them and express them with the audience.

Mehdi Cayenne

Singer-songwriter, poet, author, actor and radio columnist, Mehdi Cayenne is a free spirit from the Francophonie. Exploring the full palette of sonic textures, from the soft to the gritty, he has developed his eclectic, minimalist and evocative approach through his last three albums - "Luminata" in 2011, "Na Na Boo Boo" in 2013, and "Aube" in 2015. He is back to share a new album - "Radio Batata", recorded in Vancouver, Montreal, Ottawa and Paris - that contains by far his best songs to date.

David Goudreault

David Goudreault is a social worker, novelist and poet. Artistic director of the Grande nuit de la poésie de St-Venant, he has published three books of poems through Écrits des Forges and three novels through Éditions Stanké. The first Quebecer to ever win the Coupe du monde de poésie in 2011, David also won the Grand prix littéraire Archambault in 2016 as well as the Prix Lèvres urbaines in 2017 for his contribution to promoting the art of poetry. His one-man show, Au bout de ta langue, picked up four Bourse RIDEAU awards in 2018.

Jérôme 50

Jérôme 50 is a unique character, an exceptional lyric writer and a number of catchy melodies, all wrapped into one. Cut from the same cloth as Richard Desjardins and Dédé Fortin, Jérôme 50 has created a singular show that whisks us away to his summer camp - an imaginary realm of first loves, acid trips, and existential questionings. Through his unexpected anecdotes and finales, deadpan humour and spot-on improvisations, this singer-ganster-songwriter proposes a theatrical show that packs punch and delivers emotions. Jérôme 50 is the requisite vitamin for those in need of a sonic pick-me-up.

Queen Ka

Queen Ka is a spoken-word performer who has been active in the art world for a decade. Under her real name, Elkahna Talbi, she is known as an actrice and an author. In 2010, she created Délîrïüm, her first poetic show with Blaise Borboën-Léonard. The following year. Stéphane leclerc joined the team for Ceci n'est pas du Slam. In 2014, she releases her first album, Les éclats dépareillés. With her two fellow musicians, she created the poetic show Chrysaldes in February 2015 under the direction of Yann Perreau.

Random Recipe

Random Recipe is aptly named. A sweet mix of warmth and originality with a touch of international musical inspiration, the Montreal band has a unique, hybrid sound, and its unpretentious nature adds to the genuineness of its captivating performances. Made up of Frannie Holder, Fab, Vincent Legault and Liu-Kong Ha, the band performs across Quebec, Canada, France, Belgium, Iceland and the US. Apart from appearancing several times at the Montreal International Jazz Festival, Random Recipe has won numerous awards for its performances (Miroir de l'artiste d'ici 2011 award, Prix Étoiles Galaxie Rideau 2011, etc.).

THANKS TO OUR PARTNERS

TOHU would like to thank the partners of the event: Van Houtte, presenter of the FALLA of Saint-Michel, in collaboration with Fonds de solidarité FTQ. The FALLA of Saint-Michel was made possible through the contribution of the Government of Canada, the City of Montreal, the Government of Quebec, and the Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough. Thanks also to UNESCO, Carrefour Jeunesse Emploi Centre-Nord, Programme d'information sur le travail et la recherche d'emploi de Montréal (PITREM), Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group, proud sponsor of the free activities at TOHU in the Saint-Michel borough, RONA MAJOR, La Presse, and the Weather Network. Proud partner of the City of Montreal, TOHU presents a series of free educational and cultural activities to families in Saint-Michel and the Greater Montreal. This programming is carried by TOHU with the financial contribution of the City of Monteal.

ADRESSE :
La TOHU
2345, Jarry E
Montreal (Quebec) H1Z 4P3

Information : 514 376-8648

Season

La Falla de Saint-Michel 2019

Un 15e anniversaire enflammé !

Du 9 au 11 août prochain, la TOHU tiendra la 15e édition de La FALLA de Saint-Michel, un festival éclaté et explosif ! Présentée par Van Houtte en collaboration avec le Fonds de solidarité FTQ, cette nouvelle édition présente des activités familiales et des spectacles d’artistes musicaux qui feront danser la foule tout à fait gratuitement. Surtout, La FALLA de Saint-Michel mettra une fois de plus le feu à une immense structure mesurant plus de 9 mètres, moment fort des festivités, accompagné d’un spectaculaire amalgame d’effets pyrotechniques.

Random Recipe, Queen Ka et invités, Jérôme 50, David Goudreault, Mehdi Cayenne et Noubi Trio se relaieront sur la scène extérieure de la TOHU les 9 et 10 août à compter de 18 h. Nouveauté cette année, le public est invité à un dimanche en famille rempli d’animations pour petits et grands le 11 août de 11 h à 16 h pour souligner le 15e anniversaire de la TOHU et de La FALLA de Saint-Michel.


SERVICE DE NAVETTES


Plusieurs navettes gratuites seront à la disposition des habitants de Saint-Michel pour faciliter le transport vers le site de l'événement. Trois points de rendez-vous pour mieux vous servir ainsi que des passages fréquents !

Points d'arrêts

Centre Lasalllien : 3001 Rue de Louvain E
Centre des Loisir René Goupil : 4121 42e Rue
Maison du citoyen : 7501 Rue François-Perrault
TOHU : Arrêt coin Jarry et Molson

VENDREDI 9 AOÛT

Centre Lasallien : 17h, 18h, 19h, 20h, 21h, 22h et 23h
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 17h15, 18h15, 19h15, 20h15, 21h15, 22h15 et 23h15
Maison du citoyen : 17h30, 18h30, 19h30, 20h30, 21h30, 22h30 et 23h30
TOHU : 17h45, 18h45, 19h45, 20h45, 21h45 et 22h45

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT

Centre Lasallien : 18h, 19h, 20h, 21h, 22h et 23h
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 18h15, 19h15, 20h15, 22h15 et 23h15
Maison du citoyen : 18h30, 19h30, 20h30, 21h30, 22h30 et 23h30
TOHU : 18h45, 19h45, 20h45, 21h45 et 22h45

DIMANCHE 11 AOÛT

Centre Lasallien : 11h, 12h, 13h, 14h, 15h et 16h
Centre de Loisir René Goupil : 11h15, 12h15, 13h15, 14h15, 15h15 et 16h15
Maison du citoyen : 11h30, 12h30, 13h30, 14h30, 15h30 et 16h30
TOHU : Toutes les heures de 11h45, 12h45, 13h45, 14h45 et 15h45

HORAIRE DE L'ÉVÉNEMENT

Rendez-vous sur le site extérieur de la TOHU pour profiter des activités de La FALLA de Saint-Michel.

VENDREDI 9 AOÛT

18 h à 23 h

SPECTACLES

18 h : DUO PERSE-INCA En collaboration avec le Centre des musiciens du monde
Bistro BAHUT Brasseur de Montréal

19 h : NOUBI TRIO Scène principale

20 h 30 : MEHDI CAYENNE Scène principale

21 h 30 : QUEEN KA ET INVITÉS Scène principale


ACTIVITÉS EN CONTINU

Animation déambulatoire Site extérieur

Initiation aux arts du cirque Site extérieur

Exposition FALLA Site extérieur

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT

17 h à 23 h

SPECTACLES

18 h : DUO DIDEM ET NAZIH En collaboration avec le Centre des musiciens du monde
Bistro BAHUT Brasseur de Montréal

19 h : JÉRÔME 50 Scène principale

21 h : SLAM DE DAVID GOUDREAULT ET MISE À FEU DE L'OEUVRE GÉANTE Scène principale

21 h 30 : RANDOM RECIPE Scène principale

ACTIVITÉS EN CONTINU

Zone détente Van Houtte Site extérieur

Animation déambulatoire Site extérieur

Initiation aux arts du cirque Site extérieur

Exposition FALLA Site extérieur

Petites bouchées de cirque par La marche du crabe
Site extérieur

Vélo Paradiso
par Wapikoni Mobile
Site extérieur

DIMANCHE 11 AOÛT

11 h à 16 h

JOURNÉE FAMILIALE

15E ANNIVERSAIRE DE LA TOHU Célébrons ensemble les 15 ans de la TOHU et de La FALLA de Saint-Michel !

ACTIVITÉS EN CONTINU

Zone détente Van Houtte Site extérieur

Création d'une oeuvre avec les cendres de la FALLA Site extérieur

Animation déambulatoire Site extérieur

Initiation aux arts du cirque Site extérieur

Exposition FALLA Site extérieur

LA MISE À FEU DE L'ŒUVRE GÉANTE

Le samedi 10 août en soirée se tiendra la mise à feu de l’œuvre géante, mais surtout collective, construite par une équipe de jeunes falleros épaulés par une équipe professionnelle, de bénévoles dévoués et de centaines de citoyens engagés provenant du quartier Saint-Michel. Pour cette 15e édition, l’immense structure est construite sous le thème des jeux et jouets, ce qui laisse place à un univers rassembleur et festif. Attendez-vous à y retrouver des bonhommes Lego en trois dimensions, la fusée de Tintin en format géant, des cubes Rubik et jeux de dés surdimensionnés, une cabane en bois et des images rappelant des amusements traditionnels. La nostalgie sera assurément du rendez-vous !

Chaque été depuis sa création en 2004, la TOHU accueille avec plaisir et fierté des falleros, de jeunes Montréalais en démarche d’intégration socioprofessionnelle appuyés par le Programme d’information sur le travail et la recherche d’emploi de Montréal (PITREM). Âgés de 16 à 23 ans, ils s’affairent durant 10 semaines à bâtir cette structure monumentale s’érigeant sur 9 mètres de hauteur et 10 mètres de largeur.

BIEN PLUS QU'UN FESTIVAL

Projet artistique, de médiation culturelle et d’intégration socioprofessionnelle, La FALLA est un événement qui unit les générations et les cultures dans le quartier Saint-Michel depuis déjà 15 ans. Ce rassemblement fait appel à la créativité des citoyens, d’artistes et de jeunes en intégration socioprofessionnelle, pendant plusieurs semaines. La force de La FALLA réside dans un concept unique : élaborer ensemble une oeuvre monumentale, la faire découvrir lors de soirées festives puis l’embraser pour célébrer le renouveau. C’est également un moyen d’affirmer que c’est le temps passé en équipe et les apprentissages faits au cours du projet qui comptent et qui restent plutôt qu’une trace matérielle.

Depuis les tout débuts, le projet de La FALLA c’est : la participation d’une trentaine d’organismes communautaires du quartier, 116 jeunes falleros, près de 3000 citoyens Amis de la FALLA, plus de 21 000 heures de bénévolats par des citoyens impliqués dans la construction, près de 600 artistes associées aux diverses éditions du festival et plus de 96 000 spectateurs lors des 14 dernières éditions.

PROGRAMMATION MUSICALE

Noubi Trio

Ibnou Ndiaye de Noubi Trio est artiste-musicien et comédien originaire de Saint-Louis du Sénégal. Il est auteur, compositeur, arrangeur et interprète.L'alliance de sa guitare et de sa voix est l'essence de sa musique. Assis sur son cajón,guitare à la main, il puise ses inspirations dans le quotidien de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, pour nous embarquer dans les rues du vieux continent. Ses chansons sont conçues comme des contes, des photographies, des tableaux, elles peuvent relater un moment très bref ou à l’inverse une vie entière. Ibnou aime la scène, tendre un fil imaginaire avec les gens, une connexion pour chanter des histoires, les traduire et les exprimer avec le public.

Mehdi Cayenne

Auteur-compositeur-interprète, poète, écrivain, comédien, chroniqueur radio: Mehdi Cayenne est un électron libre, un réel inclassable dans la francophonie internationale. Avec une palette vaste sonore mêlant le doux et l’abrasif, il a su - au cours de ses trois derniers albums “Luminata” en 2011, “Na Na Boo Boo” en 2013 et “Aube” en 2015 - développer son approche éclectique, minimaliste et évocatrice. Il revient en 2019 partager son surprenant nouvel album “Radio Batata” - enregistré à Vancouver, à Montréal, à Ottawa, et à Paris - et contenant de loin ses meilleures chansons à ce jour.

David Goudreault

David Goudreault est travailleur social, romancier et poète. Directeur artistique de la Grande Nuit de la Poésie de St-Venant, il a publié trois recueils de poésie aux Écrits des Forges et trois romans aux Éditions Stanké. Premier Québécois à remporter la Coupe du monde de poésie en 2011, il a aussi reçu la médaille de l’Assemblée nationale en 2012, le Grand prix littéraire Archambault en 2016 et le Prix Lèvres Urbaines en 2017 pour sa contribution au rayonnement de la poésie. Son spectacle solo, Au bout de ta langue, s’est vu décerner quatre prix de la Bourse RIDEAU 2018.

Jérôme 50

Un phénomène de personnage, un parolier hors pair et des mélodies accrocheuses. Un peu comme l'enfant maudit qu'auraient eu Richard Desjardins et Dédé Fortin, Jérôme 50 nous propose un spectacle hors de l'ordinaire alors qu'il nous amène littéralement dans son camp de vacances, lieu imaginaire où s'unissent premières amours, trips d'acide et questionnaires existentiels. Par ses anecdotes aux finales inattendues, son humour pince-sans-rire et ses improvisations toujours justes, l'auteur-compositeur-gangster-interprète offre un spectacle à la fois puissant, touchant et théâtral. Jérôme 50 est la vitamine nécessaire à toute carence auditive.

Queen Ka

Queen Ka est une artiste de Spoken Word (poésie à l’orale) qui œuvre dans le milieu artistique depuis plus de dix ans. Elle est aussi connue sous son vrai nom Elkahna Talbi comme comédienne et autrice. Avec Blaise Borboën-Léonard elle a créé en 2010 son premier spectacle poétique Délîrïüm. L’année suivante, Stéphane Leclerc s’est rajouté à l’équipe pour la création de Ceci n’est pas du Slam. En 2014, elle sort son premier album Les Éclats Dépareillés. En février 2015, avec ces deux acolytes à la musique elle crée le spectacle poétique Chrysalides mis en scène par Yann Perreau.

Random Recipe

Random Recipe porte bien son nom. Une fine mixture de chaleur humaine, d'originalité et d'inspiration musicale internationale, la formation montréalaise propose un son hybride unique en son genre, où l'absence de prétention ajoute à la justesse de leurs fascinantes prestations. Constituée de Frannie Holder, Fab, Vincent Legault et Liu-Kong Ha, la formation s'est produite un peu partout au Québec, au Canada, en France, en Belgique, en Islande et aux États-Unis. En plus de ses multiples participations au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal et au Festival d'été de Québec, Random Recipe s'est mérité de nombreux prix pour ses performances (prix Miroir de l'artiste d'ici 2011, Prix Étoiles Galaxie Rideau 2011, etc.).

Merci à nos partenaires

La TOHU remercie les partenaires de l'événement : Van Houtte, présentateur de La FALLA de Saint-Michel en collaboration avec le Fonds de solidarité FTQ. La FALLA de Saint-Michel est également rendue possible grâce à la contribution du Gouvernement du Canada, de la Ville de Montréal, du Gouvernement du Québec et de l’arrondissement Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension. Merci également à l'UNESCO, au Carrefour Jeunesse Emploi Centre-Nord, au Programme d’information sur le travail et la recherche d’emploi de Montréal (PITREM), au Groupe Cirque du Soleil, fier de s’associer aux activités gratuites de la TOHU pour le quartier Saint-Michel, à Rona Major & Major, à La Presse et à Météo Média. La TOHU, fière partenaire de la Ville de Montréal, présente une série d'activités éducatives et culturelles gratuites pour les familles de Saint-Michel et du Grand Montréal. Cette programmation est réalisée par la TOHU avec la contribution financière de la Ville de Montréal.

ADRESSE :
La TOHU
2345, rue Jarry Est
Montréal (Québec) H1Z 4P3

Information : 514 376-8648

Programmation